Hammett Award

First bestowed in 1992, the Hammett Award is given out by the North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers to reward a work of literary excellence (fiction or non-fiction) in the field of crime writing, by a US or Canadian author.

The winning title is selected by a reading committee of IACW/NA, based on recommendations from other members and the publishing community, and the winner is chosen by three distinguished outside judges. The award is a bronze trophy, designed by West Coast sculptor, Peter Boiger, whose falcon-headed thin man symbolizes Dashielll Hammett's literary spirit.